Jack McArthur wins bull ride at Merry Muster

Jack McArthur in action at Cloncurry Merry Muster.
Jack McArthur in action at Cloncurry Merry Muster.

Cooyar bull rider Jack McArthur has put himself in a good position for Mount Isa Rodeo by winning the bull ride at the Cloncurry Merry Muster.

Also one to watch will be Charters Towers cowboy Deon Lane who won the Bareback Bronc Ride at Richmond and Cloncurry rodeos.

Emerald cowboy Shane Kenny won the Team Roping at both rodeos but with different teammates.

Kenny combined with Clay Bush to split first at Cloncurry with Campbell Hodson and Liam Davidson after combining with Brody Moss to win at Richmond.

In timed events, Lockington, Victoria, star Lee Kimber will be one of the favourites after winning the Rope and Tie at Cloncurry.

In cowgirl events, Jaimi Downing from Emerald won the Barrel Race at Richmond and Cloncurry.

Some of her toughest opposition at Mt Isa will come from the Victorian contingent, including current APRA All Around Champion Shianne O’Donoghue-Kent from Bunyip.

The Breakaway Roping has 46 riders nominated including favourite and current standings leader Leanne Caban from Emerald in Queensland.

There are more than 600 nominations for Mount Isa with all chasing prizemoney and championship points to secure a top-15 spot for The Warwick Rodeo National Finals on October 26-29 at the Warwick Showgrounds.


Ken Coleman Chute Out - Clayton Braden

Saddle Bronc - Anthony Caldwell

Bull Ride - Jack McArthur

Bareback Bronc - Deon Lane

Rope and Tie - Lee Kimber

Steer Wrestling - Clay Bush

Team Roping – Equal first Campbell Hodson/Liam Davidson, Shane Kenny/Clay Bush

Barrel Race - Jaimi Downing

Breakaway Roping - Rebecca Van Houten

2nd div Saddle Bronc - Jack McKenzie

2nd div Bull Ride - Cameron Southern

2nd div Bareback Bronc - Tom Phibbs

Jnr Steer Ride - Cody Williams

Jnr Barrel Race - Ellysa Kenny

Jnr Breakaway Roping - Kobe Miller


Open Bull Ride - Ben Thorp

Open Saddle Bronc - Jack McKenzie

Open Bareback Bronc Ride - Deon Lane

Barrel Race- Jaimi Downing

Breakaway Roping - Jemma Dowling

Rope and Tie - Shane Iker

Steer Wrestling - Haami Boynton

Team Roping - Shane Kenny/ Brody Moss

2nd div Bull Ride - Tom Phibbs

2nd div Saddle Bronc Ride - Ty King

Junior Barrel Race - Jordan Cashion

Junior Breakaway Roping - Joebie McPhee

Junior Steer Ride - Toby Hale