Buffs edge out Tigers in suspenseful grand final

The Buffaloes won their second AFL premiership in a row on Saturday after a nail-biting clash against Tigers.

Buffs came out strong in the first half of the game with a 21-11 lead at the end of the second quarter.

Soaring temperatures broke the boys in blue during the third quarter, and Tigers were ready to pounce on their fatigue. 

It looked like Tigers would take home the cup at the start of the final quarter, but Buffs kept the scoreboard ticking over as they kicked goal after goal to finish the game 63-58. 

“It was a good four quarters of footy played with hard intensity,” Buffs captain Matt Levievre said.  

“All credit to the Tigers boys who played well.

“We obviously showed our composure in the last quarter and came through with the goods,” he said. 

“Thanks to our sponsors throughout the year, it is hard running local footy clubs and without local support AFL would not happen.”

Best on ground and leading goal kicker went to Buff’s Shannon Macnamara and the Cargill Medal for best and fairest went to Jai Green.

Tigers captain Mitch Godfrey thanked the umpires, league president Leslee Bax and the team’s massive group of supporters for braving the heat. 

"It was a hard slog, the boys really pulled together in that third quarter and we came back, but Buffs just ran away with it.”